Benelux is a political and economic union that consists of three countries – Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg. The name “Benelux” is a portmanteau of the three countries’ names.

Geographically, Benelux is located in Western Europe. Belgium is situated between France, Germany, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. The Netherlands is located to the north of Belgium and borders Germany to the east, Belgium to the south, and the North Sea to the west. Luxembourg is a landlocked country and is bordered by Belgium to the west, Germany to the east, and France to the south.

Road network

The combined length of the road network in Benelux is around 361,000 km, which includes paved roads, expressways, and gravel or 4×4 tracks. Belgium has a road network of approximately 154,000 km, the Netherlands has a road network of around 139,000 km, and Luxembourg has a road network of about 7,800 km.

The road network in Benelux is well-developed and maintained. Both Belgium and the Netherlands have an extensive network of highways and expressways, with the A1 and A2 highways in the Netherlands being two of the busiest. Luxembourg has a smaller network of highways, but is still well-connected to its neighboring countries.

In terms of paved roads, the majority of the road network in Benelux is paved, except for some rural areas and small towns. Gravel or 4×4 tracks are less common, but they can be found in more remote areas or nature reserves.

Overall, the road network in Benelux is well-connected and efficient, making it easy to travel within the three countries as well as to neighboring countries. The union has a strong economy and high standard of living, making it an attractive destination for tourists and businesses alike.

Showing all 4 results

Shopping Cart